EVGA’s Classified Super Record 2 (SR-2) monster motherboard

While I was browsing the Show Me Your Rig section from the TipidPC forums, I saw a rig with two cores and looks like an EVGA Classified motherboard. I was shock to see such a monster mobo.

SR-2, short for Super Record 2, is the “declassified” or revised version of their earlier release W555.

W555 was an experimental beast but I don’t think the consumers really liked the board so they revised it and launched it as Classified SR-2.

These monster mobo can so super duper multitasking activity with its 24 threads. First glance of the board will really show you its prowess and you will also have an idea about its pricing. And yep your right, it’s expensive! This was made for the absolute and ultimate extreme users.

“EVGA has literally created a new form factor to fit all the things on one board. Whether you are an extreme gamer, overclocker, power user, workstation user, server admin, folder/cruncher, or just a PC enthusiast; this is the ultimate motherboard. This board will encode your movies, render your images, or even load your games faster than you ever thought possible.”

Some features of the SR-2:
* Supports Intel® Xeon® Dual QPI Socket 1366 Processors
* Intel® 5520 Chipset
* 12 DIMM Triple-Channel DDR3 1333MHz+ (up to 48GB)
* Enthusiast Layout Supporting 2-way SLI, 3-way SLI, 4-way SLI or CrossFireX
* 2 SATA III 6.0GB/s Ports, 6 SATA II 3.0GB/s Ports, 2
E-SATA Ports
* 2 Gigabit Ethernet Ports (10/100/1000)
* 8 Channel High Definition Audio
* 2 USB 3.0/2.0 Ports, 10 USB 2.0 Ports (6 I/0, 4 Internal)

Unfortunately the Intel Core i7-980X is not supported. Only the new Xeon 5600 CPUs are supported.

The SR-2 is also quite BIG. It’s form factor is HPTX. I don’t know yet what HPTX means but it’s a 13.6 inches by 15 inches in size and its a Trade Mark of EVGA.

Check out the images below of the EVGA Classified Super Record 2 (SR-2).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.